Wednesday, May 22, 2013

Waiting on Wednesday # 44

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly meme
 hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine


Blackout 
by Robison Wells
Series: Blackout #1
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication date: October 1, 2013
Genre: YA Science fiction/thriller
*purchases through buy links help support this blog
Laura and Alec are trained terrorists.
Jack and Aubrey are high school students.
There was no reason for them to ever meet.
But now, a mysterious virus is spreading throughout America, infecting teenagers with impossible powers. And these four are about to find their lives intertwined in a complex web of deception, loyalty, and catastrophic danger—where one wrong choice could trigger an explosion that ends it all. In Blackout, Wells delivers a lightning-fast, nail-bitingly intense thriller that's perfect for fans of The Maze Runner and I Am Number Four-set in a complex and unpredictable world, where the greatest threat comes from a weapon that no one knows how to control...and the most chilling questions have yet to be answered.
A virus is spreading! (we've heard that before) The twist is it giving teens super POWERS! Add in trained terrorists and I am in! This promises to be a thriller and perfect for fans of I Am Four..which is me!! 

A Clockwork Heart 
by Liesel Schwarz
Series: Chronicles of Light and Shadow #2
Publisher: Random House
Publication date: August 13, 2013
Genre: Adult Steampunk
Pre-order*: Barnes and Noble/Amazon/Book Depository




FOR BETTER OR CURSE. That might as well have been the wedding vow of Elle Chance and her new husband, the ex-Warlock Hugh Marsh in the second book of this edgy new series that transforms elements of urban fantasy, historical adventure, and paranormal romance into storytelling magic. As Elle devotes herself to her duties as the Oracle—who alone has the power to keep the dark designs of Shadow at bay—Marsh finds himself missing the excitement of his former life as a Warlock. So when Commissioner Willoughby of the London Metropolitan police seeks his help in solving a magical mystery, Marsh is only too happy to oblige. But in doing so, Marsh loses his heart . . . literally. In place of the flesh-and-blood organ is a clockwork device—a device that makes Marsh a kind of zombie. Nor is he the only one. A plague of clockwork zombies is afflicting London, sowing panic and whispers of revolution. Now Elle must join forces with her husband’s old friend, the Nightwalker Loisa Beladodia, to track down Marsh’s heart and restore it to his chest before time runs out.
I enjoyed  A Conspiracy of Alchemists the first book and I am anxious to dive back into the world Schwarz has created! Is this series new to you? Read my review of book one: HERE

What Book(s) are you Waiting On? 

Labels: , ,

51 Comments:

At May 22, 2013 at 2:26 PM , Blogger Blodeuedd said...

Ohh the 2nd one yes

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:09 PM , Anonymous Tonyalee said...

Awesome pick!! I'm excited for this one too! :)
My WoW

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:10 PM , Anonymous Book Swoon said...

Both Blackout and A Clockwork Heart sound amazing. I almost picked up A Conspiracy of Alchemist the other day because it sounds so great. But, I'm a bit overloaded with books from the library this week :D Kim at Book Swoon

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:30 PM , Anonymous Jennifer Bielman said...

I think Blackout sounds really good. Something new for me to try out.

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:30 PM , Anonymous Miss Page-Turner said...

Oh sorry, I didn't want to confuse you. I just wanted to say that I yet have to read anything by Robison Wells. He sounds like a great author and Variant is one of his books that I have already on my shelf.

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:30 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

No problem, this is a new to me author and I got nervous but it's all good!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:30 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

nope Blackout is a new series *wipes brow*

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:31 PM , Anonymous kimberlybuggie said...

A Clockwork Heart looks amazing!!! Can't wait to read it.
Happy long weekend!!!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:31 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

Yippee a three day weekend, enjoy!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:31 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

hmm are they related? I didn't think so *scampers off in a panic to check*

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:31 PM , Anonymous Miss Page-Turner said...

Wow, the Blackout cover is simply but stunning! I have Variant on my shelf still waiting to be read. Will have to read it very soon!:)

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:31 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

thanks Sharon I am anxious to try them too!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:31 PM , Anonymous A Belle's Tales said...

Oooo, I want BOTH of these!! Awesome WoW picks, lovely! Thanks for sharing :)

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:31 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

me too!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

thanks Nicole :)

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous candacerobinson said...

Oh I still really want to read A Conspiracy of Alchemists! I thought Black Out was part of a series, but I guess not!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

if it is it's book one!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous Lauren said...

I'm really excited to read Black Out too! I really liked your review for A Conspiracy of Alchemists, so I'm hoping to try it soon. I'm sure I'll be more than ready for book two once I'm done! Great picks, thanks for sharing! :-)

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

thanks Lauren, I really hope Blackout delivers!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous Harlie's Books by Liberty Ann said...

Kimba ~ I especially love the look and sound of Clockwork Heart! Thanks for sharing these books!

Come on by SnifferWalk Books and see what I have up this week!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

I cannot wait to read it Liberty Ann, thanks and I hope you get to try this series!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

thanks Tonyalee. I am guessing you mean Blackout?

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

I feel you, I am overloaded with ARC at the moment..so many good looking books coming out and an inability to resist them!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous Maja (The Nocturnal Library) said...

Ah, yes, I have both of these and I'm excited about both, especially the Clockwork Heart and I have both, but they aren't on my schedule for a while. I hate it when that happens, lol, I want to read them so badly.

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

I won't tackle either of them until closer to release dates..I feel your pain!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous Heidi said...

I enjoyed Liesel's first book, I am becoming a bit hesitant these days on Harper Teen's books as they have been a flop so far this year for me. Let's hope this one pans out!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

I have had been disappointed all the way around but fingers-crossed on this one

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

that is awesome!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:32 PM , Anonymous thegeekyblogger said...

Oddly enough I am going to give Blacklist a whirl. It actually looks pretty darn good :)

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous Melissa (Books and Things) said...

Oh no!! You have found more books for me to want! Bad blogger... LOL

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous brandileigh2003 said...

Blackout is on my wl too. Hope you get to read it soon!

Brandi at Blkosiner’s Book Blog]]

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

check Edelweiss.

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous Toni @ My Book Addiction said...

Just requested it, thanks!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous Christa said...

Black Out sounds incredible! And I'm really excited to read more about Elle Chance :)

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

Wasn't it great we didn't have long to wait for book two, love when that happens!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf said...

Black Out sounds amazing...I don't seem to tire of YA "dystopians" lately!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

hehehe..me either Melissa!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous Jenny Zemanek said...

So excited for Black Out Kimba! It sounds like it's going to be non-stop action, and I so enjoy a page turner like that:) I haven't read anything by Robison Wells either, so I'm looking forward to giving him a try!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

Ditto Jenny I really hope it is epic :)

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous Natalie said...

Black Out does sound really interesting. I love books with super powers. I have the Conspiracy of Alchemists and even started reading it, but then got distracted and never picked it back up. I'll need to remedy that before this one comes out. I love those covers. Great picks!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

I really liked it and hope you pick it back up. I love Super Powers too, unless you're a Time Lord and then your just great!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

thanks Adriana, I am so hoping it delivers!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

ooh so am I..i hate that it was delayed..grrr

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous Andrea @ The Bookish Babe said...

Nice picks! Both have gorgeous covers. Thanks for sharing!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

you are welcome Andrea:)

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous Toni @ My Book Addiction said...

Blackout sounds freaking fantabulous! Just added to my TBR. Thanks so much for sharing it :)

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

thanks Michelle..i am hoping it delivers!

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous Jessica@a GREAT read said...

OOh nice picks! Both are new to me!

Here's my WoW

Have a GREAT day!

Old Follower :)

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

thanks Jessica:)

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous kimbacaffeinate said...

I thought so too, a little different :)

 
At July 17, 2013 at 10:33 PM , Anonymous Laura @ Bookish Treasures said...

Black Out seems really interesting. I can't wait to read it :)

My WoW

 

Post a Comment

This blog is an award free zone..however your comments are welcome, needed and loved! I try to respond to all comments via email. Tell me what you think...

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home